Student Government

Student leadership is an important part of social and academic life at York College.

The York College Student Government Association (SGA) is comprised of elected student leaders that represent and advocate for the entire student body. These SGA Senators and Officers meet and discuss critical academic and social issues that impact students at large.

Students interested in running for an SGA position must have a minimum GPA of 2.3, with the exception of students interested in running for SGA President, in which case a minimum GPA of 2.75 is required. SGA senators serve on many committees that affect the campus environment, including the York College Faculty/Student Senate, York College Association, Auxiliary Enterprises, and the Curriculum Committee. Members of Student Government also participate in a leadership training conference, where they learn skills and techniques that help them become better leaders. 

For additional information on SGA elections, visit the Office of Student Activities in Room 1E01.

Student Government is located in Room 1G04 of the Academic Core Building.

The 2016-2017 York College Student Government Association:

Officers

NameTitleEmail
Rachelle Antoine  President rachelle.antoine@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Jerome Barrett  Vice President, Day jerome.barrett@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Dupah Gobin  Vice President, Evening/Weekend dupah.gobin@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Shavonique English Club Council President  shavonique.english@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Ality Aghedo Student Programing Council President  ality.aghedo@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Andre Barrella Communication Council President  andre.barrella@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Valeria Astudillo  Executive Director valeria.astudillo@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Lois Anti  Treasurer lois.anti@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Diego Alvarado Mateo Recording Secretary diego.alvaradomateo@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Danaelle Vaillant  Corresponding Secretary danaelle.vaillant@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Carl-Henry Isidore Parlimentarian  carlhenry.isidore@yorkmail.cuny.edu 

University Student Senate Delegates

NameTitleEmail
Sameh Hanna  University Student Senate Delegate 1 sameh.hanna@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Yssed Tobo  University Student Senate Delegate 2 yssed.tobo@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Sury Valdez University Student Senate Alternate 1 sury.valdez@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Rachelle Antoine University Student Senate Alternate 2 rachelle.antoine@yorkmail.cuny.edu 

Senators

NameTitleEmail
Colin Bobb Jr Senator colin.bobbjr@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Fabiola Cameau  Senator fabiola.cameau@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Aisha Garuba Senator aisha.garuba@yorkmail.cuny.edu
Sami Hanna  Senator sami.hanna@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Ravnit Kaur Senator ravnit.kaur@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Ripandeep Kaur Senator ripandeep.kaur@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Shayan Khan  Senator shayan.khan@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Emeka Nnaji Senator emeka.nnaji@yorkmail.cuny.edu
Sandra Okeke Senator sandra.okeke@yorkmail.cuny.edu
Ashley Oliver  Senator ahsley.oliver@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
David Olu-Talabi  Senator david.olutalabi@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Janna Rodriguez  Senator janna.rodriguez@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Harunur Roshid  Senator harunur.roshid@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Tanjila Sherif Senator tanjila.sharif@yorkmail.cuny.edu
Julie Titus Senator julie.titus@yorkmail.cuny.edu 
Larona Thomas Senator larona.thomas@yorkmail.cuny.edu
Gabriela Torres Senator gabriela.torres@yorkmail.cuny.edu