Student Government

Student leadership is an important part of social and academic life at York College.

The York College Student Government Association (SGA) is comprised of elected student leaders that represent and advocate for the entire student body. These SGA Senators and Officers meet and discuss critical academic and social issues that impact students at large.

Students interested in running for an SGA position must have a minimum GPA of 2.3, with the exception of students interested in running for SGA President, in which case a minimum GPA of 2.75 is required. SGA senators serve on many committees that affect the campus environment, including the York College Faculty/Student Senate, York College Association, Auxiliary Enterprises, and the Curriculum Committee. Members of Student Government also participate in a leadership training conference, where they learn skills and techniques that help them become better leaders. 

For additional information on SGA elections, visit the Office of Student Activities in Room 1E01.

Student Government is located in Room 1G04 of the Academic Core Building.

The 2016-2017 York College Student Government Association:


Rachelle Antoine  President 
Jerome Barrett  Vice President, Day 
Dupah Gobin  Vice President, Evening/Weekend 
Shavonique English Club Council President 
Ality Aghedo Student Programing Council President 
Andre Barrella Communication Council President 
Valeria Astudillo  Executive Director 
Lois Anti  Treasurer 
Diego Alvarado Mateo Recording Secretary 
Danaelle Vaillant  Corresponding Secretary 
Carl-Henry Isidore Parlimentarian 

University Student Senate Delegates

Sameh Hanna  University Student Senate Delegate 1 
Yssed Tobo  University Student Senate Delegate 2 
Sury Valdez University Student Senate Alternate 1 
Rachelle Antoine University Student Senate Alternate 2 


Colin Bobb Jr Senator 
Fabiola Cameau  Senator 
Aisha Garuba Senator
Sami Hanna  Senator 
Ravnit Kaur Senator 
Ripandeep Kaur Senator 
Shayan Khan  Senator 
Emeka Nnaji Senator
Sandra Okeke Senator
Ashley Oliver  Senator 
David Olu-Talabi  Senator 
Janna Rodriguez  Senator 
Harunur Roshid  Senator 
Tanjila Sherif Senator
Julie Titus Senator 
Larona Thomas Senator
Gabriela Torres Senator