Skip to Main Content

Designated Advisor Roster

Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

To obtain advisement for a declared Psychology, Sociology, or Political Science major or minor listed below, please contact the faculty member who is your designated program advisor. To determine who your advisor is, identify the faculty member who advises students with last names that begin with letters in the ranges below.

Example: Emira Smith is a Psychology major whose last name begins with Smi. Emira's advisor is Prof. Preiser.

Psychology Major and Minor


Last name begins        Designated Advisor               Contact information

Aaa - Bar                      Prof. William Ashton                 washton@york.cuny.edu

Bas - Cea                      Prof. Susan Austin                   saustin@york.cuny.edu

Ceb - Dul                      Prof. Olga Berwid                     oberwid@york.cuny.edu

Dum - Fer                     Prof. Donna Chirico                  dchirico@york.cuny.edu

Fes - Heq                      Prof. Kristin Davies                   kdavies@york.cuny.edu

Her - Khe                      Prof. Robert Duncan                 rduncan@york.cuny.edu

Khi - Max                      Prof. Ian Hansen                      ihansen@york.cuny.edu

May - Nic                      Prof. David Johnson                  djohnson10@york.cuny.edu

Nid - Pos                       Prof. Deborah Majerovitz          dmajerovitz@york.cuny.edu

Pot - Sah                       Prof. Kathariya Mokrue             kmokrue@york.cuny.edu

Sai - Tha                       Prof. Lawrence Preiser              lpreiser@york.cuny.edu

The - Zzz                       Prof. Francisco Villegas             fvillegas@york.cuny.edu

Sociology Major and Minor


Last name begins         Designated Advisor               Contact information

A - E                             Prof. Jacob Apkarian                 japkarian@york.cuny.edu

F - L                              Prof. Michele Gregory                mgregory@york.cuny.edu

M - R                             Prof. Tania Levey                      tlevey@york.cuny.edu

S - Z                             Prof. Xiaodan Zhang                 xzhang@york.cuny.edu

Political Science Major and Minor

Last Name begins            Designated Advisor         Contact information           

A - I                                 Prof. Robin Harper              rharper@york.cuny.edu               

J - Z                                 Prof. Michael Sharpe           msharpe@york.cuny.edu



Pre-Law Studies and Public Administration Minors: contact Prof. Robin Harper at rharper@york.cuny.edu



Aviation Policy and International Relations Minors: contact Prof. Michael Sharpe at msharpe@york.cuny.edu