To learn more about YORK’S COVID-19 response, visit our Coronavirus Updates page.

Skip to Main Content

Designated Advising Roster

Behavioral Sciences Designated Advising Roster for Majors in Psychology, Sociology, Political Science

Fall 2020 - Spring 2021

If you need an academic advising hold removed in order to register for classes, or you have declared a major or a minor, please EMAIL the faculty member who is your assigned program advisor to arrange advising.

To determine who your designated advisor is, identify the faculty member who advises students with last names that begin with the letters in the ranges listed below.

Example: John Smith is a Psychology major whose last name begins with Smi. Therefore, his advisor is Prof. Lawrence Presier.

Psychology

Majors and minors

Last name begins withDesignated AdvisorContact info
Aaa – Bat
Prof. William Ashton washton@york.cuny.edu
Bau – Col
Prof. Susan Austin
saustin@york.cuny.edu
Com – FioProf. Olga Berwid
oberwid@york.cuny.edu
Fip – HuwProf. Kristin Davies
kdavies@york.cuny.edu
Hux – LawProf. Robert Duncan rduncan@york.cuny.edu
Lax – MonProf. Ian Hansen
ihansen@york.cuny.edu
Moo – PerProf. David Johnson djohnson10@york.cuny.edu
Pes – RodProf. Deborah Majerovitz dmajerovitz@york.cuny.edu
Roe – TarProf. Lawrence Presier lpreiser@york.cuny.edu
Tas – ZzzProf. Francisco Villegas fvillegas@york.cuny.edu

Sociology

Majors and minors

Last name begins withDesignated AdvisorContact info
A – D
Prof. Jacob Apkarian japkarian@york.cuny.edu
E – J
Prof. Michele Gregory mgregory@york.cuny.edu
K – QProf. Tania Levey tlevey@york.cuny.edu
R – ZProf. Xiaodan Zhang xzhang@york.cuny.edu

Political Science

Majors and minors

Last name begins withDesignated AdvisorContact info
MajorsProf. Michael Sharpemsharpe@york.cuny.edu
Minors (Aviation Policy, International Relations, Pre-Law, Public Administration )
Prof. Michael Sharpemsharpe@york.cuny.edu