Student Government

Student leadership is an important part of social and academic life at York College.
error while rendering collective.contentleadimage.full

Student leadership is an important part of the social and academic life at York College.  York College Student Government Association (SGA) is the group of student leaders that represent and advocate for the entire student body.  These SGA Senators and Officers meet and discuss critical issues that impact students from an academic and social standpoint. Students interested in running for a position in SGA must have a minimum 2.3 GPA, except for the position of President who must have a 2.75 GPA.  SGA senators serve on many committees, including the York College Faculty/Student Senate, York College Association, Auxiliary Enterprises, the Curriculum Committee and various other committees that affect the campus environment. Members of Student Government also participate in a leadership training conference, where they are taught skills and techniques that help them become better leaders.  For additional information on the SGA elections, visit the Office of Student Activities in Room 1E01.

Student Government is located in Room 1G04 of the Academic Core Building.

The 2013 - 2014 York College

Student Government Association:

Officers

Name Title email Office Hours
Shaikh A. Amin President Shaikh.amin@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Nasrin Sultana Vice President, Day nasrin.sultana1@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Jesmin Bhuyan Vice President, Evening/Weekend Jesmin Bhuyan@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Ahmed Adan Treasurer Ahmed.Adan@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Gayatri Charran Executive Director gayatri.charran@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Jamila Abdulhusein Student Programming Council President jamila.abdulhusein@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Haroon Hasan Club Council President Haroon.hasan@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm
Aclema Salima Correspondence Secretary aclema.salima@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 2-3 pm, Wednesday 12-2 pm
Charlene Williams Recording Secretary- Math & CS representativ Charlene.williams@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Matthew Wilson Parliamentarian matthew.wilson@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2 pm

University Student Senate Delegates

Name Title email Office Hours
Jannatul Tazrin University Student Senate Delegate 1 Jannatul.Tazrin@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 2-3 pm
Shohana Rahman University Student Senate Delegate 2 Shohana.Rahman@yorkmail.cuny.edu

Monday 1-2 pm and 4-6 pm, Tuesday 1-4 pm, Wednesday 1-3 pm

Shaikh Al Amin University Student Senate Vice-Chairperson shaikh.amin@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-3 pm
Shabab Ali University Student Senate Alternate  - Med tech representative shabab.ali@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm

Senators

Name Title email Office Hours
Abraham Monis George Senator abraham.monisgeorge@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Assietou Atchiba Senator Assietou.atchiba@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Akash Ramkishun Senator akash.ramkishun@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Ashley Lateef Senator ashley.lateef@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Bibi Alli Senator bibi.alli@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Dauren Antoine Senator dauren.antoine@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Ezazul Haque Senator ezazul.haque@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Ezekiel Persad Senator ezekiel.persad1@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Fahad Azad Senator fahad.azad@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Hilma Krla De Souza Senator/ IT Hilma.desouza@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Lenard Angelo San Miguel Senator lenardAngelo.sanmiguel@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
MD Zahan Senator md.zahan@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Mohamed Decunha Senator Mohamed.Decunha@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 2-3pm, Wednesday 12-2 pm
Muhaned Mohamed Senator muhaned.mohamed@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Raquel Nicholson Senator raquel.nicholson@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Sabrina Nieves Senator sabrina.nieves@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm
Samual Chowdhury Senator Samual Chowdhury@yorkmail.cuny.edu Tuesday 12-2pm

Document Actions