York’s Wickham Named Athlete of the Year; Pope Sweeps Coach of the Year Awards

York College sophomore Kadisha Wickham has been named the 2010 CUNY Athletic Conference Track and Field Athlete of the Year and York Head Coach Thomas Pope has won both the men’s and women’s CUNYAC Coach of the Year Honors. Also earning accolades was senior Alexandra Nkrumah, who won the CUNYAC Sportsmanship Award, while also earning All-Star status. Eight other York College athletes earned All-Star honors as well.

Wickham, who was already named the Indoor Track and Field Athlete of the Year this season, had a phenomenal campaign during the outdoor season.  She ran several NCAA provisional times in the 200-meter dash and currently holds the sixth fastest time in NCAA Division III.  She will compete at the NCAA Championships held at Baldwin-Wallace College from May 27-29 in Berea, Ohio. 

Coach Pope led the Cardinals squad to the most successful season in school history.  The Cardinals won all four CUNYAC track and field titles, winning indoor and outdoor for both men and women.  Pope has now led the Cardinals to five women’s outdoor titles and seven men’s outdoor titles.  This is his 11th Coach of the Year Award combined between the men’s and women’s teams. 

Nkrumah closed out her York College career on a high note, winning six events at the CUNYAC Outdoor Championships en route to being named MVP.  She had a remarkable career at York, leading her team to the outdoor title in all four seasons.  She won 7 championship MVP awards between indoor and outdoor track and also took home Athlete of the Year honors for outdoor track in 2008 and 2009 and indoor track in 2009.

Eight other York College student-athletes earned All-Star status by finishing in second place or better in an event at the CUNYAC Championships.  The other eight athletes are: Chinedu Agu (400m hurdles), Brian Broadbelt (110m hurdles), Steve Burnett (hammer throw), Kenny Jacquet (10k, 5k), Alex Niles (high jump), Tarik Weekes (1,500m, 800m), Chiquita Greene (javelin) and Taneisha Renaud (10k).

Paul Dedewo of City College was named Men’s Athlete of the Year and Kadeem Campbell of Medgar Evers College earned Rookie of the Year honors.  Melanie Boyce of Hunter College was named the women’s CUNYAC Rookie of the Year.       

We apologize, there was an error rendering this snippet