Boatwright and Esonwune Honored by D3hoops.com

York College student-athletes Justina Boatwright and Marcel Esonwune have each been honored by D3hoops.com this week. Boatwright was selected as the D3hoops.com Atlantic Region Rookie of the Year, while Marcel Esonwune was named to the Atlantic Region Second Team.

Boatwright, a guard, was already selected as the City University of New York Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year.  She can now claim she was also the top rookie in the region. 

Boatwright immediately made an impact on the Lady Cardinals, leading the team in points per game, averaging 13.0 per contest.  She also averaged the most points and assists (3.2) among fellow CUNYAC rookies during the 2008-09 season.  In addition, Boatwright averaged 4.1 rebounds, 2.0 steals and shot 64 percent from the field. 

It is the second straight season York has had a student-athlete named D3hoops Regional Rookie of the Year. Last season, on the men’s side, Omari Phipps was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year. 

Hillary Klimowicz and Dawn Henderson of the College of New Jersey were named the Atlantic Region Player of the Year and Coach of the Year respectively. 

Esonwune, a center, had a breakout year for the Cardinals squad in 2008-09.  He ranks among the nations elite in several statistical categories.  As of March 15, Esonwune is sixth in the country in rebounds per game (12.0), seventh in blocked shots per game (3.0), and 28th in field goal percentage (58.8).  He led the CUNY Athletic Conference in blocks and rebounds and was third in points per game (18.2).  Esonwune also averaged 1.9 steals per game, which ranked ninth in the CUNYAC.  

Prior to his award, Esonwune had already been selected to the All-CUNYAC First Team and the All-Tournament Team at the CUNYAC Championships.  

Players were nominated for D3hoops.com All-Region Team by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted multiple times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. There were 662 players nominated nationwide, a new high. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for 10 players in their region. SIDs voted for six frontcourt players and four backcourt players, to ensure balance.

Farmingdale State’s Damien Santana was named Player of the Year, while New Jersey City University’s Rashawn Smalls was tabbed as Rookie of the Year.  Gerry Matthews of Richard Stockton College was awarded Coach of the Year honors. 

The complete first and second teams can be found at http://www.d3hoops.com/all-region/



We apologize, there was an error rendering this snippet