FAFSA Filing Workshops

FAFSA Filing Workshops are designed to help students apply online for federal and state aid.

FAFSA Filing Workshops Schedule

AC-Room 1M08

September 2017

Tuesday September 5 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday September 7 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Tuesday September 12 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday September 14 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Tuesday September 19 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday September 21 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Tuesday September 26 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday September 28 12:00 PM AC-1M08

October 2017

Tuesday October 3 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday October 5 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Tuesday October 10 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday October 12 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Tuesday October 17 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday October 19 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Tuesday October 24 12:00 PM AC-1M08
Thursday October 26 12:00 PM AC-1M08

*All Workshops Start Promptly. Please Arrive 15 Minutes Early*

What You Need To Bring:

  1. Your 2015 federal and state tax returns
  2. Your 2015 W-2 forms (and your spouse's if married)
  3. Your FSA ID (Apply at www.StudentAid.gov/fsaid)
  4. Your social security number
  5. Your Permanent Resident Card "Green Card" (if you are not a citizen)
  6. Your Driver's license (if available)

If you are a dependent student, you must also have

  1. Your parent(s)' 2015 federal and state tax returns
  2. Your parent(s)' 2015 W-2 forms
  3. Your parent(s)' social security number
  4. Your parent(s)' date of birth
  5. Date your parent(s) were married, remarried, divorced, or separated
  6. 2017-18 FAFSA Worksheet (click here) should be completed before attending workshop

What’s Next?

After you submit a FAFSA listing York College, you may receive a request from us for additional information. You should respond to that request as quickly as you can.
In order to insure that the funds available go to the students who need it the most, the U.S. Department of Education and CUNY select approximately 30 percent of all financial aid applicants for a verification process.  If you are selected you will be asked to submit copies of federal tax returns and other documents to Student Financial Services.

Your Financial Aid Award Letter

After reviewing your file, CUNY will send you a financial aid award letter, indicating the financial aid programs for which you qualify. If you are not eligible for need-based grants, you will receive a letter from the Financial Aid office, explaining other methods of financing your education.