York College Cricket Club Wins National Championship

The Cricket Club at York College has won the 2012 American College Cricket Championship. York defeated the University of South Florida in the finals on March 18 to win its first-ever national title.

York outlasted 27 other teams who competed in the American College Cricket Championship, defeating a number of big-name schools in the process.  They took down Auburn University, University of Houston-Clearlake, and NYU-Polytechnic to reach the quarterfinal round.  From there they defeated Cleveland State to advance to the Final Four.

In the semifinal round, they bested another well-known school, defeating Texas A&M.  The top-ranked Aggies came into the match with a perfect record on the season.

This set up a championship match with perennial powerhouse, the University of South Florida, who has reached the Final Four in three of the past four seasons.  York was not to be denied and defeated the Bulls to take home the title.  York’s Suleman Mohammed was named the Finals MVP.

The York College Cricket Club, along with York College President Marcia Keizs was presented with the championship trophy on April 3 in the Atrium of the Academic Core Building. TV Asia, which broadcasted the Final Four matches, was on hand to televise the event.  They conducted interviews with the players and with President Keizs.  The interviews will be aired on TV Asia at a time to be announced.  In addition, the championship match will be re-aired on Saturday, April 6 on TVAsia. TVAsia is available with most cable providers in the USA and Canada and on The Dish Network.

American College Cricket was founded in October of 2008. Each year, they hold the National Championship in Florida during Spring Break.  The organization has over 50 teams and is growing each year.

We apologize, there was an error rendering this snippet