Geffard Named 2012 CUNYAC Men’s Volleyball Rookie of the Year; Williams Named Second Team All-Star

York College freshman outside hitter, Edner Geffard has been named the 2012 CUNY Athletic Conference Men’s Volleyball Rookie of the Year and junior opposite hitter Bryan Williams has earned a Second-Team All-Star selection. The awards were announced just prior to the start of the 2012 CUNYAC championships.

Geffard had not only one of the best freshman seasons in York history, but one of the best seasons of any York volleyball player ever.  As of April 15, the Haiti native was sitting among the nation’s best in several statistical categories.  He ranks seventh in kills per set (3.77), 16th in aces per set (.44) and 27th in hitting percentage (.311). Among CUNYAC athletes, he is first in kills, third in blocks (.65), fifth in hitting percentage and sixth in aces.

During the season, Geffard took home the first seven CUNYAC Rookie of the Week awards.  He missed out on the last two but only had one match during that time span.  He led the Cardinals to a 19-14 mark—their best record since 1996—and a berth in their fourth straight CUNYAC semifinal.

Williams had a breakout season for the Cardinals in his junior year.  The Brooklyn native ranks third in the conference in kills per set (3.03) and ninth in hitting percentage (.234). He earned a CUNYAC Player of the Week selection during the period ending March 4. During that week he had a pair of 20+ kill performances including a match in which he had 23 kills and a .759 hitting percentage. He was also named to the CUNYAC All-Tournament team after a 16-kill performance in the semifinal round against Baruch College.

It is the second straight year York has won the CUNYAC Rookie of the Year.  Former Cardinal, Ahmed Helmi took the honors last season.

Hunter College’s Christopher Newcomb and Ray Bello were named CUNYAC Player of the Year and Coach of the Year respectively.

Complete List of Award Winners

Player of the Year: Christopher Newcomb, Hunter

Rookie of the Year: Edner Geffard, York

Sportsmanship: Gene Tom, Brooklyn

Coach of the Year: Ray Bello, Hunter

First Team

  • Steven Coniglio, Baruch
  • Vincent Cruz, Baruch
  • Jack McKee, Baruch
  • John Gemegah, Hunter
  • Stanley Martinez, Hunter
  • Braien Otsla, Hunter

Second Team

  • Alexander Shlivko, Brooklyn
  • Timothy Hui, Brooklyn (Libero)
  • Nicholas Siriban, CCNY
  • Eric Barty, Hunter
  • Brian Francisco, Lehman
  • Bryan Williams, York

We apologize, there was an error rendering this snippet